Celebrating our Heritage Enhancing our Environment Shaping our Future


President of the Society:  Dame Rosemary Spencer DCMG

Vice Presidents:
Mr Ken Wiltshire
Brigadier Alastair Clark

Chair of the Society:  Peter Dunbar
Vice Chair of the Society:  Richard Deane

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:   The governing body of the Society,  responsible for the overall policy and activities of the Society, and its financial management.

Hon Secretary: Barrie Sinclair-Kemp
Hon Treasurer: Adrian Harris
Comms & Outreach:  Stephanie Siddons Deighton
Membership Scout: Charles Villiers
Acting Membership Secretary: Richard Deane
Chair of GPC: Judy Howles

The committee meets in Feb, April, June, Aug, Oct, Dec,  contact Barrie Sinclair-Kemp civic@salisburycivicsociety.org.uk

DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE: The scrutiny body concerned with the maintenance and improvement of our environment.  It responds to planning applications in Salisbury District, and encourages architectural projects of quality through its Conservation and New Buildings Awards.  It also seeks to encourage informed debate of current issues through the annual Planning Forum and Open Meeting.

Paul Stevens (Acting Chair)
Richard Deane (Secretary)
Nicola Lipscombe
Leslie Lipscombe
Elaine Milton
Louise Rendell
Jeremy Turtle
Melanie Latham
David Gregory
James Salman
Hans-Dieter Scholz
Dan Roycroft
Ed Jameson
Lynne Pearson

The DC meets monthly,  contact  Richard Deane, development@salisburycivicsociety.org.uk  07974 140888

GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE:  The GP  team play an important role, fostering the cultural life of the community by publishing a magazine, arranging lectures on a wide range of topics and visits to places of interest, commissioning plaques to prominent people or places of local significance and organising the Society’s contribution to the national Heritage Open Days scheme. It promotes the Society by publicising and reporting upon events through the local press, members magazine, website and social media.

Judy Howles (Chair)
Lis Woods (Secretary)
James Woods
Brenda Hunt (Visits)
Janet Patch (Blue Plaques)
Hadrian Cook
Jamie Hobson (Lectures)
Frogg Moody

The GPC meets in Jan, March, May, July, Sept, Nov,  contact  James Woods, events@salisburycivicsociety.org.uk  01722 422169

The Society’s work is supported entirely by the subscriptions of the membership and all its officers are unpaid.

The Society is registered with Civic Voice, the national charity for the civic movement in England.  Charity Registration No 293143